Tutor Feedback Assignment Four and final video

tutor-report-assignment-4i-wanted-to-do-something-quite-different-for-assignment-four_annotated

I received my feedback in a different way. My tutor provided me with the annotated version of my written work and then he gave me the rest via Skype. This was the first time I had done Skype with Peter and it was great to see him and to ask questions.

I think to be able to Skype your tutor is something that’s very important and whilst perhaps nerve wracking before hand it’s something I would like to do with all my tutors, if they offer that option. It’s good to talk face to face and build a tutor student rapport.

Peter spoke to me about the painting The Hireling Shepherd   and when I asked what all the hidden meanings he was only too happy to tell me. It was fascinating   I felt more inspired to research symbolism in paintings. He also mentioned the Deah’sHead Hawkmoth which I will speak about more later.

As I am submitting for the November assessment, Peter returned my report very quickly so I could amend anything. I was really pleased that he enjoyed Assignment Five. And below is the annotated version.

After speaking he sent me a list of subjects we discussed. I was also really grateful as he suggested how to fix this particular part in Assignment Four. There is a moment where I want to use silence and negative space to convey the fact that the bee has been winded by the strimmer. I had tried many different shots to fix this but still felt it didn’t quite work. Peter suggested that the reason it doesn’t have this impact is mostly to due with the fact that a) the strimmer sounds too suddenly and b) the silence is much too long. I am going to be changing this and including it in the edited version of Assignment Four.

His main points were

  • Move on from iMovie – think about something like a subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud
  • Pursue some tutorials on audio editing – for example Adobe TV (more about Photo and Video editing) or Jason Levine’s videos on Audition
  • Matters discussed
  • ‘Underwater’ look?- try different combinations of stabilizatio
  • Think about the sound of the trimmer-fading it in and shortening the silence after
  • Comment in your blog about any of the issues raised in the notes or our tutorial.
  • Practice smooth handheld tracking and panning and/or look into DIY dolly and steadycam ideas

We discussed the underwater look, this is due to the image stabilisation of iMovie. Instead of changing the shot he recommended mentioning what this was due to and I agreed I would use different software in the future.

Peter finished his report saying “In general you have engaged well with the unit well.” he  also said I had been on a journey and regarding Assignment Four said;

“I did like it. I think it works pretty well. Seeing as you’re using ordinary kit I think you’ve done very well. When you floated the idea, I thought well I bet you don’t do it in the end because it’s a good idea but I wasn’t sure that you’d make something that would satisfy you. But no I think you’ve done well.”

The final version. Uploaded at a very slighter resolution due to Vimeo upload limits.

Tiny Cities -ChloeClik – Assignment Four from ChloeClik on Vimeo.

3 thoughts on “Tutor Feedback Assignment Four and final video

    • Thank you very much! Yes me too, I’m going to continue using video through the Landscape photography course which I’m really looking forward to. Are you enjoying your course? I love your blog posts, they’re really insightful.

      Like

Leave a Reply

