Assignment Four – Initial Idea

And so we reach the final assignment. I feel on the edge of a void ready to jump into the next course but first I have the abyss to cross of the final assignment. Despite describing it as an abyss I am really looking forward to this. At the moment ideas are flowing and need the restriction of a blank piece of paper to harness them.

For this assignment you’ll gather documentary footage and use it to create a short documentary sequence representing a portrait of a place. You should try and capture the spirit and feel of the place as well as representing what happens there.

As I’ve worked through this unit I have come to some decisions on how I want the documentary to go.

My first idea was to film Lytham Seafront as my destination. Initially I had wondered about shooting it at the Zoo yet while sitting on the seafront the other day I realised just how many stories were being written on the seafront, small stories, big stories, from the tall windmill to the tiny cinnabar moth clinging for a grim life to a flower in the sea breeze.

Lytham is important to me. It’s where I was born and where I grew up. Whilst we lived in was for several years we returned back here when I was fourteen and I plan to spend the rest of my life here. It’s part of who I am, I love the sounds, the people, the culture, the energy, the flowers abounding in the town, the art galleries and cafes. But I wanted to focus in on a smaller part. The seafront.

My plan was to shoot Lytham from dawn until dusk. Ideally beginning with a sunrise and ending on a sunset. To focus on the nature, the people and the monument such as the iconic Lytham Windmill. As I write this the proms are taking place, the whole green has dissapeared under stages, people, and helter skeleters. I could have focused on this but I want to focus on the smaller stories. After all it is usually the small stories that produce the strongest memories.

Early Morning 

  • Dawn until dusk
  • Credits start with time-lapse of myself doing a watercolour. Picture fades to video and starts
  • Expanse of sea to set the scene.
  • Quiet and peaceful
  • Then
  • “Something in the air.” The pound of excited paws. Bedraggled dog owners. A volley of barks fill the misty air. Que dramatic music. Dogs everywhere.

Late Morning 

  • Not sure yet. Will go to seafront and analyse.

Lunchtime

  • Busy. People with ice cream.

Afternoon 

  • Peaceful again. Focus on nature. Cinnabar moth footage.

Evening 

  • Again, unsure. Will have to research.

Night 

  • Ends on beautiful sunset from jetty.
  • Blurs to watercolour drawing.
  • Credits roll.

Some photos of Lytham seafront that I have already taken through the years.

Edit –

I decided not to go for this option after having the idea of the Tiny Cities. I felt the seafront was rather general and wanted to do something that would challenge me in every way, inspire me and create something unique.

Leave a Reply

