Exercise: Abstract image sequence

Choose a short musical sequence (1 minute max).
Listen to it a number of times. Make a note of the emotions and feelings you experience as you listen and any images or ideas that come into your mind. Don’t worry about trying to create a coherent narrative, just try and record what pops into your mind.

Find images to represent the thoughts, feelings, ideas you have.

Record your images and edit them together. Allow the music to guide the rhythm and pace of your edit.

Upload your finished sequence to your blog and invite people to comment on how they interpret your sequence.

Look at other students’ work.
• What meaning do you take?
• How does the sequence feel?
• How does it accompany or contradict the music? • Are there any images you particularly like? Why?

After leaving it a while, look back at your own sequence and the comments left by others. Do their interpretations agree with yours? Is this what you intended? Where viewers’ understanding differs from yours can you explain why this is?

 

Exercise – Abstract Image Sequence from ChloeClik on Vimeo.

This exercise started off well but I ended up needing to drastically change it due to copyright issues. I did have a lot of fun setting things on fire though. 

One of the songs that always moves me and creates images in my mind is the song Flares from the Script. There is something about it that feels magical, it gives me a feeling of wide spaces, fireflies, lights and a connection between two people. I love the part just before the chorus where the music stops and the focus is on Danny O’ Donoghues voice. It shows the power of stopping the music just for a moment and allow the words and feelings to shine.The beginning piano riff is symbolic of the Script’s music but feels so pure in this. It has an almost intergalactic feel.

As the song was over three minutes long I had to cut and trim, blending the first verse straight into the chorus and then including the final note at the end.

I listened to the song several times and the more I listened to the words the more the meaning changed for me. I decided to make a video about a girl who is worried about her boyfriend but then he writes ending it. She burns all the photos of him and thus the memories. I was originally going to make her  go to a fortune teller and ask if there actually was someone out there for her. But it didn’t fit in the one minute so I decided to leave it despite filming it.

I storyboarded the short film and it was clear I was going to need a photo of the boy. I searched through the free stock on DeviantArt and came across these photos, they were perfect. http://xn3ctz.deviantart.com/art/Cold-City-53969801 I also used a photo of me in Scotland.

IMG_0943cold_city_by_xn3ctz

Then using Photoshop I blended the two images together using PhotoMerge – Compose and adjusted the lighting to match. I was pretty pleased with the result. Only sad I had to then burn them.

Chloe and Lucas

The Shoot

I changed my sister’s name on my phone so the texts looked like they were coming from him. Originally I asked Amber to purely text ‘It’s over’ but she decided to be a bit more creative so I could film my reaction.

Then it was time to set things on fire. I printed off the small photos (making sure they were included earlier in the video) and set a match to them. This was a lot easier said than done as the flame kept blowing out or the sparks hit my bare skin. Eventfully though the match was lit and I held it to the photos. I had written on them messages from Luke and it was quite poignant as it was burn up. I quite like the last shot as the circle of fire burns over Luke.

In the editing I let the music dictate the speed and emotion of the film. I feel it’s quite moving when she answers her phone and as her face falls the music starts “Did you lose what can’t return?”

I was about to upload the sequence when I read Vimeos’s terms and conditions. Not wanting to get into trouble by using copyrighted music I replaced the song with one from iMovie, Half Moon Bay Long. The first notes feel like slow footsteps, or the menacholoy of a broken heart. I cut the music off her to show the importance of the text tone As she reads the text the music is dark thuds like a her mood, the music tempo slows down to allow it to sink in. The match creates it’s own beat and the paper curls up to the beat. It’s not quite as powerful as the original but I think it works well.

 Look at other students’ work.
• What meaning do you take?
• How does the sequence feel?
• How does it accompany or contradict the music? • Are there any images you particularly like? Why?
Ashley Lauryssen.


Ashley filmed a story of a man pining for his lost wife while cutting flowers. He leaves the flowers abandoned and goes to look at some photos (I find it funny how we both recorded a similar thing without seeing the others first) His daughter finds the flowers and takes them to her father. They sit staring at the photos together. It’s very moving and even more powerful so with the choice of music. I love the way it starts following them through the open doorway. The music reinforces the emotions and you feel the mans sadness especially as he walks away. Watching it again, it almost feels with the tracking shot in the first scene that it is the wife watching her husband and the doorway being symbolic for the afterlife. It feels very moving and melancholy and I thought it was very sweet the daughter comforting the father.

 

I was searching through Google and found a video I hadn’t yet seen. It was very powerful and completely different to all the other videos’ I’d seen. The piece of music was violent and dramatic, perfect for a movie score and as it played flickering images of drought, death and destruction were played. I loved how the final beat of each note always ended on the wolfs eyes. Armageddon photos were featured matching the tempo well and ending on a a galactic image.

 

4 thoughts on “Exercise: Abstract image sequence

    • ChloeClik says:

      Thank you so much! I learnt so much in the photography courses, I love this course so much but equally looking forward to getting back to them 🙂

      Like

  1. Ashley says:

    I love what you did with the photo – brilliant idea :-). I think not only did we have similar ideas but we ran into similar difficulties with copyright. It’s difficult to reverse engineer the music when you started with a different piece in mind. I think that is the value of this exercise, that it is useful to have the music in mind before filming.
    Nonetheless, I think the music you used matched the visuals well and I agree that the pause in the music at the right time gives dramatic effect.
    My favourite images though are of the burning photos – there is something so sad and painful in those images.

    Liked by 1 person

    • ChloeClik says:

      Thank you so much! I wish I had chosen a different song now, in fact maybe I will do another piece using a song from that website. It is hard isn’t it reversing the music, I was sad about that but oh well, it’s all a learning curve.

      Thank you, I’m glad you like the burning images 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

