Gorilla Pod

During the filming I’ve found moments when I really wish I had something that allowed me to hang the camera at obtuse angles so I can include myself in the movie if there’s no actors available. You have to be a certain kind of mad to suspend your camera from a shed roof using a bit of string and a lot of luck (that’s me then) but I decided sooner or later something bad would happen to my camcorder so I decided to treat myself and buy a gorilla pod.

It’s really strong and sturdy and it’s got a ball head so you can shoot at any angle. The great thing about it is that you don’t have to use it just as a tripod. If you wrap it around your neck it can be a steady cam, if you turn the camera round it can be like a snorri cam. Tomorrow I’m going to experiment and see what I can do with it.

I took it out for a spin by the lake today, I love how it can attach to anything and can’t wait to get creative with it. It even attaches to my mobility scooter which lets it do tracking shots.

996644_952625148179089_5394599230112985380_n

Leave a Reply

