Exercise – An Objective POV

Look back at the sequence you produced in project 3. 

Now record the same scenario from an objective POV. Alternatively you can chose to record one of the other scenarios you imagined. 

The Visitor from ChloeClik on Vimeo.

I was going to be filming the alcoholic scene but unfortunately my model wasn’t well enough to film it. I planned the door scene for her but her health went so downhill she was unable to do that either so I roped in two other models and continued to film the door scene as I had created the storyboards and was excited to film it.

Think very carefully about what you wish to frame, you will then also need to consider where this is scene from and what camera angle would best suit your purpose. Also consider what other meanings and feelings will be implied by your choice of frame and angle 

It will help if you have an actor (Luckily I do)

What to do. 

  • Sketch out some basic storyboards. Ensure each new angle is justified.
  • Record the shots.
  • Edit them into a short sequence.
  • Upload the sequence to your blog
  • Look back at your finished sequence and reflect on it’s success. You can also compare it with other examples on the course discussion site. What works? What doesn’t? Why is this the case? Can you think how to improve the piece? Make notes in your learning log.

 

With that in mind I started my storyboards thinking hard about the angles I had just studied and how best to produce the short video.

As I’d been studying about the effects of different camera angles and how the low angle and high angle shot especially created feelings of vulnerability and empowerment I decided to create an ominous story of a man visiting a house. I needed to denote feelings of fear and darkness and a dramatic start to the sequence to introduce the character.

Here are the storyboards

IMG_0087IMG_0086IMG_0088

 

There is a dip in the pavement that always becomes a puddle in the rain but on the day of shooting, typically there wasn’t a drop to be seen. With a watering can we created our own puddle. I made it as deep as possible so a really dramatic splash would be generated.

Positioning the camera at a canted angle to create feelings of drama I sat back on the driveway and zoomed in not wanting to subject my camera to the water. I feel it worked very well and used the first take though I took several from multiple angles. I also introduced the music as the foot stamps into the water.

Shot two was when the stranger walked towards the house. I held it on the ground for a low angle to create feelings of fear, this man is not someone to be messed with. I held it just above the ground for the right composition but there’s a touch of camera shake so I will bear that in mind in future productions.

I sat back in the bathroom which is level with the corridor and kitchen and instructed my actor to ring the doorbell then panned across to show the owner of the house terrified inside. I felt this worked well and had connotations of the raptor kitchen scene in Jurassic Park with the two levels and different angles.

The camera flips to a subjective view as Anne peers around the door before ducking back to an objective shot.

A close up on the letter box with the man’s fingers coming through showed how this man was not going to give up.

I stood off a step ladder (and almost fell off when I hit my head on the ceiling) and used a high angle shot to show feelings of vulnerability and weakness. This is reinforced by her emotion and body language.

I flicked to a close up of the man with his eye through the letter box. This was quite a challenging shot as we couldn’t hold the letter box open at the same time as pushing the black draught proofing material away. Hence the piece sticking up.

Another high angle shot of poor Anne looking terrified.

Then the music changes and so does the camera angle. Suddenly the high angle is on the man which signifies that he is no longer the stronger party. Something is happening.

I added a tracking shot pulling backwards from the man.

I wanted to show how Anne is fed up of being treated like this and scared out of her own home and used an extreme close up on her eyes as they go from terrified to vengeful.

Then I panned down from her face and to her hands and the pan she is clenching. Originally in the storyboard I drew a weapon but decided to use a pan instead.

The music is gone and there’s just a hum of atmosphere as Anne walks slowly to the door with a tracking shot framing only her legs and the drying pan concealed behind her back. It’s a tense moment, what’s going to happen?

Then a shot of the man at the door over Anne’s shoulder, this is usually how conversations and such are filmed including part of the character especially programs like Vera.

A close up on the man’s face shows he is triumphant and gloating.

The drums come in, Anne throws the door open and whacks the man. The scene goes black and is left to the viewers imagination. For the sound of the pan hitting the man I experimented a bit before discovering that hitting the table with the pan (more or less gently) made a pretty realistic sound. I then added a cosmic effect to make the sound more dramatic. (note Anne didn’t actually hit the man though I was pleased how realistic it looks)

I thoroughly enjoyed this exercise and found using storyboards a very effective way to film something. My actors weren’t available much in the day but by ticking off every frame as I went I could shoot all the scenes with the man, then the woman and finally the two of them together. The shoot took about twenty minutes over all due to the planning and would have probably taken a reasonable amount more if the only plan had been in my head.

 

3 thoughts on “Exercise – An Objective POV

  1. Ive watched this through a couple of time now. The story works well and is easily understood with the shots that were chosen. The music does add drama to the story, although I think its a little too loud in places.

    Little things I picked up on that really helped, the shrill tone of the doorbell cut right through, almost increasing the tension.

    The second shot, stranger walking up the drive way, I do wonder if it would have had a better effect if shot from the opposite angle. In your film as the man walks up the drive he gets smaller and smaller in the frame, reversing the angle he would have filled the frame more as he got closer to the door, and with a low angle he would have more than filled the frame, conveying that idea that he is a threat.

    The only other thing I would have changed is that you have Anne already sat on the floor before the man has arrived. Is she aware that he was walking up the drive and that is why she is cowering? Personally I would have either added a shot where she could see him walking from the road, through a window maybe, or started the shot with her standing against the wall and slowly slide down the wall as the bell rings.

    Other than that I really enjoyed the piece. Changing the weapon to a pan was a great idea. It maintained the vulnerability of Anne where a knife would have changed that, and I dont know whether it was the intention or not, but it added a slight Looney Toons feeling to the end of the short, a slapstick ending if you like.

    Like

    • Wow what a great comment, thanks. I’m glad you enjoyed the story and the overall effect. Yeah I was pleased with the doorbell, ours is quite a piercing one so it worked really well. Very good point about the man walking towards the door. I will try that. And also like the idea of the woman seeing the man, though I was seeing it like she had been waiting terrified for him to arrive. Haha yeah the pan attack was inspired ^_^ They are great models because they always put all their heart into it. It was followed by the lady chasing the man outside and around the garden 😛 But decided to cut it at that point 🙂
      Thanks for your comment! Really appreciate it 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

